En Route to Dallas

At this very moment, I am sitting in a truck that’s headed for Dallas. It’s nearly 5:00 pm, but traffic isn’t too bad yet. Whether or not it stays manageable as we get closer to the city will be seen, but for now, it’s smooth riding.

I’ve been meaning to update here for a week. Life has gone crazy, as I predicted that it would. I’m immensely enjoying everything that I’m doing, of course, but I find myself with hardly enough time to eat or pee, let alone sit down and write a blog. But for me, this is a good thing. As you know, I don’t do idle well.

So, why am I on my way to Dallas, you ask?

Because tomorrow is the first quarter conference for OCD TEXAS, and being the Vice President, I’m kind of required to, you know, show up.

Back when we started putting OCD TEXAS together last August, Irene (the President) and I decided that it would make sense to rotate the locations of the meetings. Of course, she and I put together the last meeting in Austin in October, and it was a raging success. This quarter, it’s Dallas’s turn. After months of planning, I’m headed north to see the fruits of everyone’s labour.

A lot has happened with OCD TEXAS over the past few months. We officially received our affiliate status. Our 501(c)(3) went through. And our numbers? Well, I hit 100 RSVP responses this week. That doesn’t account for the people who will just show up.

And that, my friends, is excellent. It’s amazing to me how far this little organization of ours has come in only six months. I remember so clearly driving to Dallas with Irene to discuss the possibility of forming an affiliate, and being met with only skepticism. I remember sitting in the Cheddar’s with her, deciding that we were going to form an affiliate anyway. And today? We’ve done it.

I’m super pumped for tomorrow, but nervous too, of course. I always am when it comes to things like this. I’ll facilitate a group, sit on a panel, and just try to direct people to where they belong. It doesn’t sound hard, but I know that at an event of this size, everyone is looking to the organizers. And of course, I wonder if they’ll think we did a good job.

In the end, I’m sure that they will think we did.

They haven’t seen the thousand and one crises that I’ve dealt with this week. The fires that we’ve put out. The conversations we’ve had, wondering how to handle lunch for 100 people. Wondering what we’d do when we lost a panel moderator. They haven’t seen the frantic worrying, or the hundreds of e-mails we’ve fielded.

And that’s how it should be.

But I have to admit, the closer I get to Dallas, the more these things pop into my mind. I just wouldn’t be me if they didn’t.

That said, I do owe you an update. Things have, well… exploded… here, in some pretty awesome ways. Marina nominated me for an award that I really must address, because Marina is a ROCKSTAR. And I promise you all, it is coming. Just be patient with me. Every once in awhile, I have to choose sleep over blogging.

And this weekend? Well, I’ll get back to you if I’m still standing at the end of the day tomorrow.

*Bobs

3 Comments to “En Route to Dallas”

  1. Good luck babe! I know it will be a kickass success. With you running the show it has to be. Have a great time!

  2. So impressive, all that you have done! Would love to hear more about the weekend on your blog!

  3. Thats awesome lady! You go girl!

Leave a Reply

